High School Mathematics-Physics SMILE Meeting
08 February 2005
Notes Prepared by Porter Johnson

The Math/Physics SMILE class meeting was held in the HUB auditorium, in conjunction with the 2005 Chicago Regional Bridge Building Contests. Details may be found at this website: http://bridgecontest.phys.iit.edu/Congratulations to all the winners, particularly to the top two in each region who will be participating in the 2005 International Contest in April! Here are the top four students in each regional contests:
City of Chicago Region
Efficiency Name Mass Held (kg) School
 1418  William Gunther   34   St. Ignatius College Prep
 1315  Julian Stacey   32   Payton College Preparatory
 1160  Cassie Prena   29   St. Ignatius College Prep
 1121  Nicole Dennis   25   Morgan Park High School
North Suburban Chicago Region
Efficiency Name Mass Held (kg) School
1123   Elizabeth Carrington   25   Glenbrook North High School
  867   Kevin Nevsimal   17   Wheaton Warrenville South High School
  797 Emily Terao   19   Evanston Township High School
  761  __ Culkin   19   Evanston Township High School
South Suburban Chicago Region
Efficiency Name Mass Held (kg)    School
 2991   Sasha Bajzek   57   Tinley Park High School
 2387  Don Ruffatto   56   Lincoln-Way Central High School
 1997 Matthew Krafczyk   46   Waubonsie Valley High School
 1953 Melissa ver Haar   48   Illiana Christian High School

First and Second place winners will compete in the International Contest to be held at IIT on Saturday, April 23. In addition, First, Second, and Third  Place winners received prizes and Bridge Contest T-shirts. They also received invitations to the Engineering Week Dinner, thanks to Chief Judge George Krupa. A total of 149 bridges were tested from city and suburban high schools at this 31st Annual Contest.

Each of the schools having winners received an elegant trophy for display. All participating schools will receive - via US mail (or via ISPP meetings) - photos of their students who participated, and all students will receive a Certificate of Merit, with Special Certificates for winners. All students have already received an impressive medallion with red-white-blue ribbon. These are worn around the neck to identify them as participants within their schools and physics classes. Each has also received a special water bottle, courtesy of the Illinois Engineers Council. The Frank Garcher "traveling" Supertrophy was awarded to Tinley Park High School thanks to Sasha Bajzek whose bridge carried the greatest load, 57 kg.

A BIG THANK YOU!!...to the Committee (Bill Blunk, Ann Brandon, Roy Coleman, Tom Jensen, John Kallend, George Krupa, Eduardo de Santiago, Carlo Segre, Bill Shanks, Lee Slick, Jim Stankevitz, Thomas Torres, Earl Zwicker) who have made it happen by giving of their talent and time. Several have served for 31 years!

Notes prepared by Porter Johnson